Tennessee State Flags

Tennessee State Flags

History of the Tennessee State Flag

The current design of the Tennessee state flag was officially adopted on February 3, 1905. The flag consists of a red field with a blue circle in the center, surrounded by three white stars. The red, white, and blue colors are derived from the United States flag, and the three stars represent the three "grand divisions" of Tennessee: East Tennessee, Middle Tennessee, and West Tennessee.

Before the current design, Tennessee had several other flags throughout its history. The first official flag of Tennessee was adopted in 1796 and was based on the flag of the United States, with the addition of a blue circle with a white border in the center. This flag, known as the "National flag," was used until 1834, when it was replaced with a new design known as the "State flag."

The State flag, which was in use until 1905, featured a blue field with a white circle in the center, surrounded by 13 white stars. The stars represented the 13 original colonies, and the blue and white colors were intended to symbolize the Union.

In addition to these official flags, Tennessee has also had several other flags and symbols throughout its history. For example, the state has had a number of military flags, as well as a flag for the Governor of Tennessee.

  • Product
  • Qty in Cart
  • Quantity
  • Price
  • Subtotal
  • Total: items /

Adding your products to cart